Hello world! A new journey deeper into cloud computing

Cloud IconGreetings fellow cloud travelers.  My name is Tom Lococo and I’ve been working as an IT professional all my adult life – let’s say roughly 25 years give or take.  Most of it I’ve spent working for a large IT vendor you can read more about on my LinkedIn profile.  Spent some time in private systems management consulting and implementations as well.

Outside of the day job, I’m a husband and father of six (yep you read that right – kids are great!) and a lover of music and the great outdoors.  To leave time for all that, I value IT solutions that are simple, elegant and just work so that people don’t have to be aware of the solution.  That way they can just focus on the outcome they achieve, and spend the rest of their time living.

I’ve spent two-thirds or more of my career in IT hosting or managed service delivery for those gearheads out there.  My role has consistently straddled the line between Enterprise Architect (‘what IT solutions does a business need’) and Infrastructure Architect (‘design of specific IT components to achieve those IT solutions’).  I’ve designed and built some really cool websites and the infrastructure that runs them, in the process creating, transforming and migrating whole datacenters of thousands of servers.  In the process of doing that I’ve managed to be involved in and learn about all kinds of IT disciplines including Architecture Methods, security, networking, performance analysis and service management (ITIL again for the gearheads).  I spent a good seven or so years specializing in enterprise governance and knowledge management across large, diverse global delivery organizations.  I’ve done some blogging as well, more on the personal side, as part of our families involvement in adoption.

2015 finds me at the start of some new adventures.  I’m working for a new company under the title of ‘Cloud Solutions Architect‘.  I’ve been a certified IT architect under the Open Group for a long time (2007-2015) and a working IT architect for over twice as long as that.  This year I’ll be delving deeply into new cloud hosting platforms and new industries.  I’ll be re-certifying as a solutions architect within the discipline of Cloud IT.

This blog will follow my journey more deeply into the world of cloud computing.  The technologies I investigate.  The kinds of clients I work with.  The hopefully simple and elegant solutions that grow out of that.  I may cover the certification or re-certification process as well and what it takes for me to get mine.

Leave a comment